• Thu. Dec 7th, 2023

Swearing-in of four new Cabinet members


Oct 4, 2023

BUJUMBURA, October 4th (ABP) – The four new Cabinet members appointed, on Monday, October 2, 2023, by the Head of State, took an oath on Tuesday, October 3, 2023, at the Kigobe Congress Palace, in front of the President of the Republic of Burundi, Evariste Ndayishimiye and the two Houses of Parliament and the Constitutional Court.

These are the Minister of Public Health and the Fight against AIDS, Dr. Liduine Baradahana, the Minister of the Environment, Agriculture and Livestock, Mr. Prosper Dodiko, the Minister of Civil Service, Labor and Employment, Mr. Venuste Muyabaga, Minister of East African Community Affairs, Youth, Sports and Culture, Ambassador Gervais Abayeho.

With their right hand up and the left hand holding the national flag and that of national unity, they swore loyalty to the Charter of National Unity, the Constitution and other laws resulting from it. They are committed with all their strength to defending the superior interests of the nation, to promoting the unity and cohesion of the people of Burundi, peace and social justice, in the accomplishment of the functions entrusted to them. They are also committed to combating any ideology and practice of genocide and exclusion, and to promoting and defending the rights and freedoms of individuals and citizens.

                                                                                                             Profile photo of some of the Cabinet Members

After the oath, each of the ministers signed their commitment in front of the members of the Constitutional Court.

Note that those ceremonies were attended by the former President of the Republic of Burundi, Sylvestre Ntibantunganya, the Vice President of the Republic, the Prime Minister, the Burundian Ombudsman, senior officers of the police and the army, representatives of the diplomatic and consular corps accredited to Bujumbura, representatives of international organizations, representatives of political parties and civil society organizations, and other dignitaries.