• Tue. Feb 27th, 2024

East African countries are called on to fight Omicron variant


Jan 5, 2022

DAR ES SALAAM January 4th (XINHUA) – The East African Community (EAC) has called on its six member States to protect themselves against the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

“With the recent surge in the number of COVID-19 cases caused by the new Omicron variant, I call on each of you to remain vigilant and protect yourself and those around you,” EAC Secretary General Peter Mathuki said in a New Year message.

“Together, we will defeat the virus,” he added in that message published on Sunday evening at the head office of the EAC in the city of Arusha, in northern Tanzania.

Despite a difficult and tumultuous year 2021, EAC remains resilient and determined in its quest to broaden and deepen economic, political, social and cultural integration in order to improve the quality of life of the people of Africa, he asserted.

The main goal of the EAC in 2022 will be to pursue regional integration in order to ensure an improvement of trade within the bloc, to facilitate the movement of people, goods and services in the region, to expand the markets, and promote peace and security to strengthen the bloc, Mathuki said.

EAC member countries include Burundi, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, South Sudan, and Tanzania.