• Sun. Jul 21st, 2024

Swearing in of five members of the CNIDH and 16 new members of the Court of Auditors


Jun 6, 2023

BUJUMBURA June 6th (ABP) – The members of the National Independent Commission for Human Rights (CNIDH) and those of the newly appointed Court of Auditors were sworn in on Monday, June 5, 2023, at the hemicycle of Kigobe, in front of the President of the Republic, Evariste Ndayishimiye and Parliament.

The members of the CNIDH who took the oath are, the Chairman of the CNIDH, Dr. Sixte Vigny Nimuraba, Deputy Chairman Anaclet Nzohabonayo, Secretary Anésie Mfatiyimana, Member Jacques Nshimirimana and Member Consolate Habonimana.

                                         The President of the Court of Auditors, Mrs Générose Kiyago, takes an oath

They have all sworn to fulfill their duties faithfully, independently and impartially, never to allow themselves to be guided by any partisan interest, to devote themselves entirely to the protection and promotion of human rights, with strict respect for the Constitution of the Republic of Burundi, the Charter of National Unity and other laws in force.

The new members of the Court of Auditors, who have been sworn in, are the President of the said Court, Mrs. Générose Kiyago and 15 advisers.

They have sworn to faithfully fulfill their functions as magistrates, to exercise them in complete independence and impartiality, in compliance with the constitution and the laws of the Republic of Burundi, to scrupulously keep the secrecy of deliberations and votes, to give no consultation in a private capacity on matters within the jurisdiction of the Court and to observe the reserve at all times, honor and dignity that those functions impose on them.

Note that the oath was taken while holding the national flag and national unity in hand.

Former Presidents of the Republic of Burundi Domitien Ndayizeye, Sylvestre Ntibantunganya, members of the government, representatives of the diplomatic and consular corps accredited to Bujumbura, representatives of civil society, defense and police executives and others, have attended those swearing-in ceremonies.