• Sat. Nov 26th, 2022

Commemoration of the assassination of the hero of democracy in Muramvya and Mwaro provinces


Oct 25, 2022

MURAMVYA, MWARO October 25th (ABP) – The commemoration ceremonies of twenty-nine years after the assassination of the hero of democracy in Muramvya province (Center-West) saw the participation of a mass of the people in majority young, Governor Diomède Nzambimana, heads of provincial and communal services and legal representatives of political parties.

Wreaths of flowers were laid at the democracy monument located in the capital of Muramvya province respectively by Governor Diomède Nzambimana in the company of the communal administrator of Muramvya, the parties CNDD-FDD, FRODEBU, UPRONA, CNL, APDR and ADR. After listening to the extract from the speech delivered by the hero of democracy, President Melchior Ndadaye, after the victory of his Sahwanya FRODEBU party in 1993, Governor Diomède Nzambimana took his time to ask the people of Muramvya to work to safeguard peace, security and democracy that President Melchior Ndadaye campaigned for and was even a victim.

In Mwaro, the commemoration of the 29th anniversary of the assassination of Melchior Ndadaye, the first democratically elected president, was enhanced by the presence of the Minister in charge of solidarity, gender and human rights, Mrs. Imelde Sabushimike in the company of the governor of Mwaro col Gaspard Gasanzwe. The ceremonies began with a mass of thanksgiving in his memory celebrated at the Regina Pacis parish in Nyabihanga.

The parish priest who celebrated the mass, Father Valentin Nsabimana called on the young people to safeguard peace and security. He asked them to distance themselves from anyone who wanted to introduce hatred between them.

For adults who experienced the 1993 situation, Father Valentin Nsabimana indicated that this is the time for reconciliation and reconstruction.

After the mass, we proceeded to the laying of wreaths at the democracy monument built in the capital of Nyabihanga commune.

Apart from the provincial administration of Mwaro, the political parties that laid the wreaths are FRODEBU, CNDD FDD, UPRONA and CNL.